Broiled Asparagus

I’ve always hated asparagus. I thought it looked weird, thought the strings were choking me (when not cooked perfectly,) and the main reason: they were green and I was a typical kid.

One day, shortly after my boyfriend moved in with me, he actually ASKED for me to make asparagus. Now, he’s the kind who eats anything, never ever complains (except for olives and mushrooms,) and lets me come up with anything I like. So this was a strange request. But of course I complied. And when I opened the oven, it smelled so delicious, I’ve been having asparagus at least once a week now since that day. I can not get enough of it; I’m even going to try to grow some this spring.

In case you need any more evidence in the argument for making asparagus a dietary staple:

Vitamins k, a, b1, c, b2, e, b3, b6, b5. Folate, iron, fiber, manganese (which is what makes your pee smell,) potassium, phosphorous, protein, choline, zinc, magnesium, selenium, calcium.

 

 

This is my go-to method because it is quick and easy. Translation: delicious and I don’t have to wait for it.

Set your broiler, position your rack near the top. Lay the asparagus flat on a baking sheet. Pour on melted butter, salt, and pepper. Broil for 6-8 minutes.

Ta-da!

Note: You can customize this so easily. Most of the time, I add garlic. Sometimes I’ll throw mushrooms into the mix. You could use red pepper flakes. Its awesome. Also, if you drink your 8oz of water (like you already should be!) you can forego the pee smell:)

Image

Leave a Reply

